Nigerian Players Dominate Shortlists for CAF Women’s Awards

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the shortlists for the women’s categories of the CAF Awards 2023, with Nigerian players prominently featured in several categories.

Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona Femeni, Spain) and Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France) are among the ten nominees for the prestigious award.

adozie, Deborah, Waldrum and Asisat Oshoala

Goalkeeper of the Year: Nnadozie’s outstanding performances at the FIFA Women’s World Cup and club level have earned her a nomination in this category.

Young Player of the Year: Deborah Abiodun, who impressed at the World Cup against Canada, and home-based talent Opeyemi Ajakaye are both nominated for this award.

See also: Osimhen, Oshoala Nominated For 2023 CAF Awards

Coach of the Year: Super Falcons’ Coach Randy Waldrum is in contention for this award alongside Desiree Ellis of South Africa, Morocco coach Reynald Pedros, and Mamelodi Sundowns’ Jerry Tshabalala.

The ultimate winners will be determined by a voting panel comprising CAF’s Technical Committee, media professionals, head coaches, captains, and club representatives.The CAF Awards ceremony will take place on Monday, 11 December, in Marrakech, Morocco.

Chidalu Glory

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *