UNIZIK Decides: Comrade Ejikeme Emerges President-Elect

Comrade Francis Izuchukwu Ejikeme, a 300-level student from the Department of Educational Management and Policy in the Faculty of Education, has emerged as the President-elect in the recently concluded Students Union Government (SUG) elections of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (UNIZIK).

The election, which took place virtually on Wednesday, July 5, 2023, witnessed a remarkable turnout of voters. Comrade Ejikeme secured a total of 2786 votes, surpassing his four opponents: Ibemesi Stanley Chijioke (901 votes), Miss Amobi Pearl (795 votes), Eze Samuel (408 votes), and Ezekwe Chidubem Cornelius (309 votes).

Furthermore, Esther Onyinyechi Nwachukwu emerged as the Vice President, garnering 2357 votes. She outperformed Esther Ifeoma Okafor (2191 votes) and Peace Munachimso Eweluka (630 votes) in the race for the position.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Charles Okechukwu Esimone, FAS, praised Professor Chinonso Achebe, the Dean of Student Affairs, for his exceptional efforts in organizing the virtual SUG elections over the past three years. He emphasized the commitment of the university to transparency, credibility, and fairness, stating that they take the necessary measures to prevent unfit individuals from leading the student body. Prof Esimone also acknowledged the students’ cooperation and commended the UNECO team, NANS, and student representatives for their patience and dedication to the success of the election.

Professor Achebe, the Dean of Student Affairs, expressed gratitude to God for the smooth conduct of the election. He highlighted the fairness, credibility, and transparency of the e-voting system and encouraged the Federal Government and INEC to adopt similar practices as UNIZIK.

The election Situation Room was monitored by NANS members, university staff from various faculties, and agents appointed by the candidates.

In addition to Comrade Ejikeme and Vice President Nwachukwu, the elected officials are as follows:

Anyaorah Manasseh (2943 votes) – Secretary General

Nwabugwu Chibuike James (2985 votes) – Assistant Secretary General

Modum Jideofor Jesse Clifford (3065 votes) – Financial Secretary

Ikeafe David (2937 votes) – Treasurer

Chikwendu Chukwuebuka David (2239 votes) – Director of Socials

Miss Bert-Okonkwor Ebube Cordelia (2949 votes) – Director of Sports

Azolibe Oscar (3572 votes) – Public Relations Officer

Chidalu Glory

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *